Friday 21 Apr 2017, 7.30pmBedford Corn Exchange, Bedford

Venue Box Office: 01234 718112

Santtu-Matias Rouvali conductor

Alban Gerhardt cello

Smetana Vltava from Má Vlast

Elgar Cello Concerto


Dvořák Symphony No. 8 in G (Op. 88)

The season closes with an evening of epic sweeping melodies, from the shores of the River Vltava, (from Smetana’s love letter to ‘My Country’) to Dvořák’s Bohemia-inspired Eighth Symphony and its exuberant brass-filled final movement. In-between is the fire and passion of Elgar’s virtuosic, haunting Cello Concerto, composed in the shadow of the First World War, and performed here by the renowned German cellist Alban Gerhardt.