Sunday 4 Jun 2017, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Fabrizio Falasca violin

Fiona Cornall violin

Yukiko Ogura viola

Timothy Walden cello

Heidi Krutzen harp

Samuel Coles flute

Mark van de Wiel clarinet

Ravel Introduction et Allegro

Debussy Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp (1915)

Heath Forest

Showcasing the full colour and expressive range of the harp, the sumptuous sounds of French Impressionism are juxtaposed with a late 20th-century protest piece. Debussy’s Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp is classically ‘Debussian’, with ambiguous harmonies, dream-like themes and instrumental colour.

Ravel’s Introduction et Allegro (for harp, flute, clarinet and string quartet) was commissioned to ‘show-off’ the Érard company’s new pedal harp in 1905, and explores the full resources of the solo instrument. Using the same orchestration of Ravel’s septet, David Heath’s Forest uses the harp as the voice of the natural world.

In the evening performance at 7.30pm, hear the Orchestra perform two choral masterpieces with Jérémie Rhorer and two stellar soloists.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series