Thursday 25 May 2017, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Herbert Blomstedt conductor

Martin Helmchen piano

Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1


Beethoven Symphony No. 7

Herbert Blomstedt returns to the Philharmonia to conduct Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony – a work full of rhythmic vitality that was described by Wagner as ‘the apotheosis of the dance’. Alongside, Brahms’s impassioned First Piano Concerto with pianist Martin Helmchen. 

Before, hear the Philharmonia Chamber Players perform Beethoven's Op. 20 septet, arguably the finest septet in history, in their free performance.