Esa-Pekka Salonen: Sibelius

Thursday 28 Sep 2017, 7:30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Pekka Kuusisto violin

Thorvaldsdottir Aeriality

Sibelius Symphony No. 6


Bjarnason Violin Concerto

Sibelius Symphony No. 7

Opening the 2017/18 season, Esa-Pekka Salonen places the work of two contemporary Icelandic composers alongside Sibelius’ two final symphonies. Cast with light and shade, Symphony No. 6 emerges upwards from melodies forged out of a single stepwise motion: music of ‘pure cold water’, held Sibelius. For his Seventh, Sibelius crosses his entire symphonic landscape in a single movement, one idea generating another, expressing the ‘joy of life and vitality’.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s Aeriality occupies the border between symphony and sound art, capturing in a world of clustering textures the feeling of gliding through the air with nothing or little to hold on to. Alongside, the UK première of Daníel Bjarnason’s Violin Concerto, a composer who Time Out New York have as ‘coming eerily close to defining classical music’s undefinable brave new world’. 

This concert is part of the The Salonen Series series