Sunday 12 May 2019, 3pmDe Montfort Hall, Leicester

Venue Box Office: 0116 233 3111

Paavo Järvi conductor

Viktoria Mullova violin

Beethoven Overture, Egmont

Arvo Pärt Fratres

Arvo Pärt Passacaglia for solo violin, vibraphone and string orchestra

Arvo Pärt Darf ich... for solo violin, tubular bell and string orchestra


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

A great live performance of Tchaikovsky’s final symphony is among the richest emotional experiences in classical music. The composer himself called it ‘the best thing I have composed or will ever compose’, and to many listeners it encompasses hope and despair, joy and heartbreak, life and death. At the heart of the concert there is a unique opportunity to hear a specially-curated selection of pieces chosen and performed by internationally-acclaimed violinist Viktoria Mullova, who brings her exceptional musicianship to three works by contemporary Estonian composer Arvo Pärt.