Sunday 13 Oct 2019, 3pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Clemens Schuldt conductor

Augustin Hadelich violin

Schumann Overture, Manfred

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto


Beethoven Symphony No. 7


Beethoven judged his Symphony No. 7 to be one of his best works - musicians, critics, and thousands of listeners since would agree, and many would even name it as one of the greatest symphonies ever written.

The steady, inexorable build-up of intensity in the second movement had such a profound impact on the audience at the work’s first performance that they demanded a repeat hearing before allowing the orchestra to proceed with the rest of the symphony. And the whirlwind dance of the finale continues to catch listeners up in its headlong energy more than two centuries later.

Augustin Hadelich, praised by Alex Ross in the New Yorker for his “pinpoint brilliance”, is the soloist in Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, another work that well deserves its place as an audience favourite. Mendelssohn wrote the solo part, brimming with his trademark singing melodies, for his childhood friend Ferdinand David.

Manfred, Lord Byron’s drama telling of a Romantic anti-hero who defies heaven and hell to die on his own terms, inspired music by Schumann, Tchaikovsky and Nietzsche – the Overture to Schumann’s incidental music opens tonight’s programme.



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 105 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Please note: This concert begins at 3pm

This concert is part of the Sunday Matinees series