Sunday 23 Feb 2020, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Tamás Sándor violin

Emily Davis violin

Yukiko Ogura viola

Richard Birchall cello

Evgenia Startseva piano

Mahler Piano Quartet

Zarębski Piano Quintet


Our Philharmonia Chamber Players bring you two intimate piano works in this free pre-concert performance, programmed by Principal Second Violin, Tamás Sándor. 

Zarebski's Piano Quintet is regarded as a masterpiece in Poland, showcasing a fresh ear for symphonic thinking, motivic development and sheer melodic invention. But first, the Chamber Players perform Mahler's only surviving chamber piece without voice, his youthful, romantic Piano Quartet.

“It's wonderful music, talented, emotional, well written, it'll be great to let the audience discover the world of Zarebski a little bit!” (Tamás Sánor)

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series