Sunday 10 May 2020, 7.30pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Philharmonia Box Office : 020 7921 3907

Juraj Valčuha conductor

Alexander Gavrylyuk piano

Glazunov Concert Waltz No. 1

Grieg Piano Concerto


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, Pathétique


Enjoy one of the richest emotional experiences in classical music: Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique Symphony, paired with Grieg’s timeless Piano Concerto.

Tchaikovsky described his final symphony  as “the best thing I have composed or will ever compose”, and to many listeners it encompasses hope and despair, joy and heartbreak, life and death.

At the height of his powers, Tchaikovsky overturned many of the conventions of the symphony. The second movement, which at first sounds like a graceful waltz, in fact has an unsettling five beats in a bar, the third ends with a blaze of brass and percussion which would have made the perfect triumphant finale, and the actual finale ends with a devastating descent into silence.

Grieg’s Piano Concerto launches from its unforgettable opening into music of passion and drama infused with the unique rhythms and melodies of his Norwegian home in two thrilling outer movements. At the heart of the piece lies the gentle theme of the second movement, its solemn mood evoking the sounds of a church chorale before being illuminated by the entry of the expressive piano.



  • Prices: £58 (premium); £45; £36; £28; £19; £12
  • Discounts: Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; £8 tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)
  • Running time: 115 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Before the concert: FREE Philharmonia Chamber Players performance, 6pm, Royal Festival Hall