Saturday 30 Nov 2019, 7.30pmCambridge Corn Exchange, Cambridge

Venue Box Office: 01223 357851

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Sayaka Shoji violin

Grieg Holberg Suite

Brahms Violin Concerto


Dvořák Symphony No. 9, From the New World

We welcome back Vladimir Ashkenazy for a performance of Dvořák’s timeless classic, the New World Symphony.

Heartfelt, spirited and filled with a love of life, the New World Symphony is a perfect marriage of the Bohemian sounds of Dvořák’s Czech homeland with the Native American music and African-American spirituals of his briefly adopted home in America. A dynamic opening launches a magical experience, as audience and orchestra alike share a journey through vibrant musical scenes, all framing arguably the most famous twelve minutes of orchestral music ever written: the soulful largo, with its evocative melody on cor anglais.

With a musical career spanning sixty years that has made him a household name, Vladimir Ashkenazy is one of the great musicians of our time. Joining him on stage is acclaimed violinist Sayaka Shoji, who performs Brahms’s ambitious Violin Concerto. Opening innocently from a single melodic line, the music grows to a symphonic scale, revealing some of Brahms’s most emotionally charged music. At the centre of it all is the violin – at some points wild and tempestuous, at others infinitely tender.


  • Prices: £44; £34; £28; £17 (no view); plus £3 booking fee
  • Discounts: subscription discounts available; under-26s and concession discounts available
  • Running time: 130 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Recommended age: from 7+