Friday 29 Nov 2019, 7.45pmThe Anvil, Basingstoke

Venue Box Office: 01256 844 244

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Esther Yoo violin

Grieg Holberg Suite

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto


Dvořák Symphony No. 9, From the New World

We welcome back Vladimir Ashkenazy for a performance of Dvořák’s timeless classic, the New World Symphony.

Heartfelt, spirited and filled with a love of life, the New World Symphony is a perfect marriage of the Bohemian sounds of Dvořák’s Czech homeland with the Native American music and African-American spirituals of his briefly adopted home in America. A dynamic opening launches a magical experience, as audience and orchestra alike share a journey through vibrant musical scenes, all framing arguably the most famous twelve minutes of orchestral music ever written: the soulful largo, with its evocative melody on cor anglais.

With a musical career spanning sixty years that has made him a household name, Vladimir Ashkenazy is one of the great musicians of our time. Joining him on stage is acclaimed violinist Esther Yoo, who performs Mendelssohn's richly melodic Violin Concerto. Loved by audiences across the world, the music brims with lyricism. Mendelssohn wrote it for his childhood friend Ferdinand David, leader of the Leipzig Gewandhaus orchestra, and it quickly attained the status it retains today as one of the essential works in the violin repertoire.


  • Prices: £42; £38; £31; £24; £16
  • Discounts: subscription discounts available; under-25s and concession discounts available
  • Running time: 120 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Recommended age: from 7+

This concert is part of the Classic FM Recommends series