Friday 17 Apr 2020, 7.30pmThe Marlowe, Canterbury

Venue Box Office: 01227 787787

Paavo Järvi conductor

Zhang Zuo piano

Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2


Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2

Experience two passionate masterpieces, a thrilling artistic pairing, and an evening of unforgettable melodies to leave you humming on your way home.

In a fusion of glitzy showmanship and subtle musicality, Liszt’s Piano Concerto takes you on a striking journey. One simple melody is transformed from gentle opening to a fiery march and triumphant close – guided expertly tonight by virtuoso pianist Zhang Zuo, known as Zee Zee to her many fans around the world.

Last time Paavo Järvi conducted Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony with the Philharmonia, critics marvelled at its “soul-baring” (The Guardian) performance. Now, we welcome back the electrifying Estonian conductor to Canterbury for an evening that promises no less excitement. 


  • Prices: £49; £39; £30; £21; £15
  • Discounts: subscription discounts available; £10 'Discovery' tickets available for ages 16-26; concession discounts available
  • Running time: 110 minutes, including 20 minute interval
  • Recommended age: from 7+

This concert is part of the Classic FM Recommends series