Wednesday 27 Nov 2019, 7.30pmSt David's Hall, Cardiff

Venue Box Office: 029 2087 8444

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Sayaka Shoji violin

Brahms Violin Concerto


Sibelius Symphony No. 2

Written during a summer holiday in 1878, Brahms's Violin Concerto has long been a staple of the repertoire. Built on a symphonic scale, it’s a work bathed in Alpine sunlight, rugged grandeur framing an Adagio of azure skies and silken-beauty. Ascending the peaks of this concerto is Japanese violinist Sayaka Shoji, the first Japanese and youngest winner at the Paganini Competition in Genoa in 1999. Vladimir Ashkenazy is a renowned Sibelius interpreter, so you can be confident of explosive energy in the ever-popular Second Symphony.

This concert is part of the International Concert Series 2019/20.