Keep the Philharmonia Playing: all live concerts up to December 2020 are sadly cancelled. If you can, give what you can to keep the Philharmonia playing for you, wherever you are in the world.

Donate now

Watch again: Sheku performs Saint-Saëns


Philharmonia Sessions: Sheku performs Saint-Saëns

Keep the Philharmonia Playing

As a charity, we rely on the generosity of individuals like you to support the work we do through successes as well as these periods of difficulty. Please consider making a donation to our Keep the Philharmonia Playing appeal to secure our future and help us stay digitally connected with our audiences around the world.

Donate now

The Philharmonia Sessions is a series of new online performances. Take the best seat in your house to enjoy specially created performances of some of the most uplifting classical music.

We open this hopeful new chapter in our history with a celebration of string playing. Star cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason, who became a household name when he played at the wedding of the Duke and Duchess of Sussex in 2018, performs Saint-Saëns’s lyrical Cello Concerto No. 1.

John Wilson conducts the Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis. Vaughan Williams’s rhapsodic masterpiece is well suited to socially-distanced performance – he divides his forces into two mini-orchestras and a string quartet, and asks for them to be placed as far apart as possible, to weave a web of luminous sound around the listener.

Supported by:
John and Carol Wates
The Wates Foundation

Promoted in partnership with Classic FM.

The session will remain online for 30 days.

Upcoming Sessions

Photo of Lucy Drever at the Philharmonia Sessions
Online concert

Philharmonia Sessions: Family Concert

Holly Mathieson – conductor
Lucy Drever – presenter
Angie Newman – British Sign Language interpreter

Programme features:
GEORGE WALKER Lyric for strings, LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA ‘How Far I’ll Go’ from Moana, RAVEL Mother Goose (excerpts), JESSIE MONTGOMERY Starburst


Esa-Pekka Salonen conducting at the Proms
Broadcast concert

BBC Proms: Salonen conducts Shostakovich and Mozart

Esa-Pekka Salonen – conductor
Benjamin Grosvenor – piano
Jason Evans – trumpet

  • Ravel Le tombeau de Couperin
  • Shostakovich Concerto for piano, trumpet and strings
  • Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C, Jupiter

Nicola Benedetti, credit Andy Gotts
Online concert

Philharmonia Sessions: Beethoven and Vaughan Williams

Paavo Järvi – conductor
Nicola Benedetti – violin

  • Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending
  • Beethoven Symphony No. 1