Watch on demand: Salonen: the finale II, with Mitsuko Uchida

Mitsuko Uchida


Esa-Pekka Salonen – conductor

Mitsuko Uchida – piano


BACH ARR. KLEMPERER ‘Bist du bei mir’

BACH ARR. WEBERN Ricercata 2 a 6 voci

BACH ARR. BERIO Contrapunctus XIX

BACH Prelude from Partita No. 3 in E major for solo violin BWV 1006.1

ESA-PEKKA SALONEN Fog (World premiere, version for orchestra)

BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 3



Buy access now

Esa-Pekka Salonen is joined by revered pianist Mitsuko Uchida in his final concert as Principal Conductor of the Philharmonia. In this typically thoughtful programme, Salonen distils all the creativity and sense of adventure that have been the hallmarks of his 13-year tenure, and claims his place in Philharmonia Orchestra history.

Generations of composers have looked to the music of JS Bach for instruction and inspiration. Salonen brings together a lush aria arrangement for strings by the Philharmonia’s first Principal Conductor Otto Klemperer; a masterclass in instrumental timbre by Anton Webern; and Luciano Berio’s homage to the king of counterpoint.

The joyful Prelude from Bach’s Partita No. 3, played by the Philharmonia’s Concert Master, sets the scene for Salonen’s own Fog, dedicated to the architect Frank Gehry. The piece takes its name from Gehry’s initials, but it’s easy to imagine a chilly, mysterious landscape as glimpses of Bach’s Partita emerge, coalesce and then disappear again.

Esa-Pekka Salonen and Mitsuko Uchida have worked together many times, in concert halls around the world. They join forces once more for Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto, to crown this fascinating concert and mark the end of an extraordinary era for the Philharmonia.

Filmed as live at Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre.

Capture date: Thursday 10 June 2021

Prices & Discounts

£10 to £20

For Friends of the Philharmonia:
Standard ticket: £9
Two-concert multibuy: £18
Become a Friend here. The booking code for Friends will be included in your confirmation email. If you are an existing Friend, we will send you your booking code.

For other bookers:
Standard ticket: £12
Standard+ ticket: £20
Two-concert multibuy: £20
Two-concert multibuy +: £36

If there will be more than one person watching the concert in your household, or if you are able to pay a bit more to help us recover from the financial impact of lockdown, please consider buying a Standard+ ticket for £20, or a Subscription+ for £36. The viewing experience will be the same as with a Standard ticket.

When and where

This concert was filmed at Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, and will premiere on Friday 25 June 2021 at 7.30pm. It was filmed on 10 June 2021

How can I watch

You will get an email on the day of the premiere with a unique link to watch the stream. You can watch as many times as you want after that for 30 days. For further details on how to book and watch, visit our FAQs page

Running time

90 minutes


Is this a live performance?

No. This performance is filmed as live but it took place on Thursday 10 June 2021

Was it produced safely?

Yes. We are working with independent health and safety experts and have robust risk assessment procedures in place drawing from Public Health England advice.

Programme notes

Read the digital programme notes for this stream.

Streamed from Southbank Centre

Online concerts from our London home


View events