COVID-19 update: all live concerts to the beginning of August 2020 are sadly cancelled; help secure the future of the orchestra through our Keep the Philharmonia Playing appeal.

Read more

All events Small-ensemble performance

Music of Today: Anna Thorvaldsdottir

Purcell Room
Book free tickets

Booking open to Friends only. Join now
Tickets go on general sale on Tuesday 3 March 2020 at 9.30am.

Photo of composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir


Simone Menezes – conductor


Sky Macklay Microvariations (European premiere)

Anna Thorvaldsdottir Aequilibria (UK premiere) Listen

Anna Thorvaldsdottir Hrím (UK premiere)

Be swept away by a musical world of beauty and tension in this programme of three stunning works, by American composer Sky Macklay and Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir.

Delicate balance and stormy contrasts lie at the heart of each work in tonight’s performance. The ethereal world of Thorvaldsdottir’s Aequilibria is inspired by the harmony she finds in nature, creating a meditative mood that grows and contracts like calm, deep breaths. But interspersed are moments of conflict, as flurries of excitement in the flute and piano, and sharp, percussive outbursts across the ensemble interject and interrupt the calm scene.

In Hrím, Thorvaldsdottir  takes this even further, with intense sound fragments that appear and gradually disperse across the ensemble to create a dark but shimmering landscape. The listener is drawn in as each instrument in turn introduces a new idea only for it to scatter and eventually fade into unearthly nothingness.

To open, Macklay’s Microvariations is filled with humour and irreverence. Hers is a playful fantasy on instrument tuning as two opposing ensembles battle with familiar harmonies presented in comical new ways.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

FREE, ticket required

Running time

45 minutes, there is no interval

Recommended age



You can take drinks from the bar into this evening’s performance

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717


A photo of the Purcell Room

Purcell Room

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

After the concert

Santtu-Matias Rouvali

Santtu conducts Beethoven and Shostakovich

Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Lars Vogt – piano

  • Beethoven Overture, Leonore No. 3
  • Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 12
Royal Festival Hall

Booking open to Friends only. Join now
Tickets go on general sale on Tuesday 3 March 2020 at 9.30am.

Book free tickets