Keep the Philharmonia Playing: all live concerts up to December 2020 are sadly cancelled. If you can, give what you can to keep the Philharmonia playing for you, wherever you are in the world.

Donate now

All events Concert

Rachmaninov and Bruch

The Marlowe, Canterbury
Book tickets

Photo of conductor Elim Chan


Elim Chan – conductor
Noa Wildschut – violin


Grieg Two Elegiac Melodies Listen

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 Listen

— Interval —

Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances Listen

Hear conductor Elim Chan bring to life some of the most memorable melodies ever written in tonight’s evocative programme.

Bruch’s Violin Concerto is arguably the composer’s greatest work – and for good reason. The ultimate test of virtuosity for any soloist, it offers excitement and emotion in equal measure, delivered this evening by rising-star violinist Noa Wildschut.

To close, a dramatic musical journey in Rachmaninov’s final completed piece. His Symphonic Dances are filled with breathtaking energy throughout, though there is tenderness too: at their heart lies a wistful melody for solo saxophone that lingers long in the memory.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £49

Subscription and multi-buy discounts available; £10 ‘Discovery’ tickets available for ages 16-26; concession discounts available; £10 tickets for schools

Running time

1 hour 40 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Box office

The Marlowe box office: 01227 787787


The Marlowe, Canterbury

The Marlowe

The Friars

View on Google Maps

Book tickets