All events Concert

Coleridge-Taylor, Copland & Gibbs

Worcester Cathedral
Book tickets

Photo of soprano Ruby Hughes


Adrian Partington – conductor
Ruby Hughes – soprano
Njabulo Madlala – baritone
Three Choirs Festival Chorus


Coleridge-Taylor Solemn Prelude

Copland Appalachian Spring Listen

— Interval —

Gibbs Symphony No. 2, Odysseus

Two thrilling English works frame Copland’s masterpiece Appalachian Spring in a transatlantic programme conducted by Adrian Partington.

A contemporary of Vaughan Williams and Parry, Armstrong Gibbs’s music is filled with the lush harmonies of their music. In his Second Symphony, he brings to life the thrilling Greek legend of Odysseus.

To open, a chance to hear the second-ever performance of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s Solemn Prelude as the composer finally begins to receive the international recognition he deserves.

And framed by the two English works, Copland’s best-loved piece, Appalachian Spring. Fusing jubilant dances and reverent hymns, the piece takes the listener on a journey across the full range of human emotion.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £55

10+ event subscription available; limited allocation of £5 under-30s tickets available on the door

Running time

2 hours 10 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Box office

Three Choirs Festival box office: 01452 768928


Photo of Worcester Cathedral

Worcester Cathedral

8 College Yard

View on Google Maps

Book tickets