Keep the Philharmonia Playing: many live concerts up to March 2021 are sadly cancelled. If you can, give what you can to keep the Philharmonia playing for you.

Donate now

All events Concert

Paris: Salonen conducts Mahler 9


Conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen againt an all-black background, conducting


Esa-Pekka Salonen – conductor
Rebecca Nelsen – soprano


Berg Lulu Suite Listen

— Interval —

Mahler Symphony No. 9 Listen

Mahler’s magnificent Ninth Symphony depicts the composer’s epic battle between his passionate love for life and the dread of death – a topic Mahler’s mind was obsessively drawn to in the writing of the work, ending the music with a haunting decay into silence. Our Principal Conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts this masterpiece.

But first, soloist Rebecca Nelsen performs Berg’s Lulu Suite.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

€5 – €85

Running time

2 hours 10 minutes, including 20-minute interval