All events Concert

Santtu conducts Clyne, Brahms and Dvořák

Royal Festival Hall
£13 — £65
Book tickets

Priority booking is open now. General booking opens at 10am on Monday 11 April. Join the Friends to book your tickets now.

Conductor Santtu-Matias Rouvali wearing in black shirt standing amongst trees.


Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Lars Vogt – piano


Anna Clyne Color Field (UK premiere)

Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2 Listen

— Interval —

Dvořák Symphony No. 7 Listen

Santtu conducts two pinnacles of the Romantic repertoire, and a vivid new piece by the Philharmonia’s Featured Composer Anna Clyne.

Anna Clyne’s Color Field takes its inspiration from a Mark Rothko painting Orange, Red, Yellow, the experience of synaesthesia, where certain colours are linked with particular pitches or keys, and the fiery rhythms of Serbian folk music.

Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 2 is in the hands of pianist Lars Vogt, a renowned interpreter of Brahms acclaimed for his “deeply lyrical” playing (New York Times). At the height of his powers, Brahms explored many moods in this four-movement work, by turns tempestuous, soulful and brilliantly virtuosic.

Dvořák, too, was already revered as a master of his craft when he was commissioned to write his Seventh Symphony, premiered in London in 1885. It’s full of lyrical Bohemian spirit and bursting with melodies. Tender personal moments contrast with passages of intense drama – Dvořák wrote that his symphony’s themes were “Love, God and Fatherland”.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£13 – £65

Multi-buy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)

Running time:

2 hrs, including a 20 minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the event.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

Before the event

Composer Anna Clyne in beige jacket and black hat at a crossing.
Small-ensemble performance

Music of Today: Anna Clyne Curates

Members of the Philharmonia Orchestra

  • Jessie Montgomery Strum (original version for string quartet)
  • Caroline Shaw Punctum
  • Paola Prestini G-Force
  • Anna Clyne Strange Loops (UK premiere, Philharmonia co-commission)
Purcell Room

Priority booking is open now. General booking opens at 10am on Monday 11 April. Join the Friends to book your tickets now.


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

You may also like

2022/23 London Season

A world of transformative musical experiences
from our home at the Southbank Centre.


View season

Book tickets
£13 — £65