Universe of Sound DVD

September 2016 release

Universe of Sound DVD cover

Esa-Pekka Salonen leads the Philharmonia Orchestra in a unique performance of Holst’s The Planets Suite, captured by 37 cameras for its touring installation, Universe of Sound

This immersive experience takes the viewer to the heart of the Philharmonia as it performs this much-loved work, using cameras placed in a multitude of positions and angles to create an extraordinary glimpse of the orchestra at work from within.

As well as The Planets, the filmed performances also includes a specially commissioned piece by UK composer Joby Talbot, Worlds, Stars, Systems, Infinity.

Additional features include a ‘Making of’ documentary feature, listening guide films for each planet, audio commentaries from conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen and principal players of the Philharmonia.

Also available on Blu-ray, with a picture-in-picture option that allows a simultaneous view of the conductor and orchestra in action.


  • Esa-Pekka Salonen


  • Holst

Product Types:

  • DVD