Alessandro Crudele – conductor
Martin Helmchen – piano


Beethoven Overture, Fidelio

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 16, K. 451

— Interval —

Beethoven Symphony No. 4

With his ability to shape “lines as elegant and clean as a Greek temple’s” (The New York Times), Martin Helmchen has a natural affinity with Mozart’s music. Mozart composed his Piano Concerto No. 16 as a vehicle for his own gifts, resulting in a piece that drips with apparently effortless elegance.

Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony is a sublimely beautiful work that exudes a fresh-air, outdoorsy feel, with an exhilarating first movement, idyllic Adagio, spirited third movement and exuberant finale. Beethoven starts the concert, too, with a work-out for the orchestra in the form of his adventurous Fidelio Overture.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £40

Multi-buy offer available; under-16s and concession discounts available

Running time

1 hr 35 mins, including 20-minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available here.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm


Bedford Corn Exchange
Bedford Corn Exchange

Bedford Corn Exchange

13 St Paul’s Square
MK40 1SL

View on Google Maps

Sold out
£15 – £40