Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Bruce Liu – piano


Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 Listen

— Interval —

Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 Listen

Bruce Liu joins the Philharmonia and our Principal Conductor Santtu in one of the all-time great piano concertos.

Liu made his UK debut with the Philharmonia in 2022, not long after winning the prestigious Chopin International Piano Competition. He returns in arguably the most popular concerto in history. Composed as Rachmaninov recovered from years of depression and writer’s block, his Second Piano Concerto is a passionate outpouring of creativity: stormy strings, achingly lonely clarinet, and a piano part with more memorable melodies than many composers write in a lifetime.

Santtu follows this with another twentieth-century masterpiece, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10. Rumoured to contain a musical depiction of Stalin, this symphony certainly speaks of darkness and fear. But Shostakovich also wove in a motif whose notes represent his own name – the individual standing up against oppression, humanity and creativity defiant and unvanquished.

This concert is supported by an anonymous donor.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£25 – 85

Multibuy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available

Running time

2 hrs, including an interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available here.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

You may also like

2023/24 London Season

Explore our 2023/24 season at the Royal Festival Hall.

Browse concerts

Sold out