All events Concert

Guangzhou: New Year’s Day Concert

Sold out

Lan Shui conducting an orchestra


Lan Shui – conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet – piano


Elgar Serenade for Strings

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 17

— Interval —

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, ‘Italian’

The Philharmonia continues their tour to China with music by Elgar, Mozart and Mendelssohn.

Lan Shui takes to the helm to conduct Elgar’s Serenade for Strings – the perfect opener for the Philharmonia’s renowned string section. Written in three movements, it conjures up the English countryside with playful rhythmic passages and lyrical melodies that pull at the heartstrings.

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet “inspires, entertains and embodies the playfulness and grace of Mozart’s much-loved works” (Gramophone). Tonight, he offers his interpretation of Mozart’s charming Piano Concerto No. 17.

Closing the programme is Mendelssohn’s sunny Symphony No. 4. Inspired by the composer’s travels in Italy, it was once described by Mendelssohn himself as “the jolliest piece I have ever done.”

Need to know


¥380 – 1880

Running time

2 hours, including an interval

Sold out