All events Concert

Leicester: Clarinet Spotlight

De Montfort Hall, Leicester
Book tickets

Booking opens at 10am on Friday 10 June.

Marta Gardolińska


Marta Gardolińska – conductor
Michael Collins – clarinet


Weber Overture, Der Freischütz Listen

Weber Clarinet Concerto No. 1 Listen

— Interval —

Brahms Symphony No. 1 Listen

Marta Gardolińska takes us back to the early Romantic era in this all-German programme. Der Freischütz is widely considered one of the first German operatic masterpieces, and the 10-minute overture offers a tantalising taste of the whole work.

The spotlight is then on the brilliant Michael Collins, as he demonstrates all that the clarinet has to offer in Weber’s radiant first clarinet concerto. The work was embellished by Weber’s clarinettist friend Heinrich Baermann, for whom it was written, and the result is abundant in memorable melodies.

Brahms’s Symphony No. 1 is full of in melting lyricism and dynamic expansion. Brahms looked to Beethoven for inspiration, and his own version of the Ode to Joy (taken from Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony) can be heard in the final movement.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £39.50

Subscription discounts available over the phone at 0116 233 3111; £6 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (excludes top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal Credit

Running time

1 hour 40 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

Book tickets