All events Concert

Leicester: The Tales of Scheherazade

Sold out

Booking opens at 10am on Friday 10 June.

Philharmonia wind section in performance.


Stanislav Kochanovsky – conductor
Alexei Volodin – piano


Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 Listen

— Interval —

Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherazade Listen

Conductor Stanislav Kochanovsky takes to the stage for this concert, with Alexei Volodin as the soloist in Rachmaninov’s captivating Piano Concerto No. 2. Full of rich, Romantic intensity, and with a fiendish cadenza, it’s one of the most difficult – and rewarding – pieces in the piano repertoire.

Inspired by ancient folktales of The 1001 Arabian Nights, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade takes us on an exhilarating adventure with all the colours of the orchestra depicting princesses, princes, sailors, ships and storms. Scheherazade herself is represented by an exquisite solo violin melody. Night after night she tells scintillating tales to the Sultan in an effort to keep herself alive…

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £39.50

Subscription discounts available over the phone at 0116 233 3111; £6 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (excludes top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal Credit

Running time

1 hour 40 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available here.

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

Sold out