All events Concert

Santtu and Nemanja Radulović

Royal Festival Hall
£13 — £65
Book tickets

Priority booking is open now. General booking opens at 10am on Monday 11 April. Join the Friends to book your tickets now.

Principal Conductor Santtu Matias-Rouvali conducts the Philharmonia with energy.


Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Nemanja Radulović – violin


Shostakovich Suite for Variety Orchestra (Jazz Suite No. 2) Listen

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 2 Listen

— Interval —

Beethoven Symphony No. 2 Listen

Watch the sparks fly as Santtu joins forces with virtuoso violinist Nemanja Radulović in a programme spanning styles and centuries.

Radulović is known for his adventurous, thrilling and technically masterful playing, perfect for the tumultuous finale of Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto. There’s a place for his tender, soulful side too, in the long-breathed, lyrical melodies of the first two movements.

Beethoven’s Second Symphony stands on the cusp, where Classical poise and grace meet a more personal and passionate Romantic sensibility. Full of confidence, energy and creativity, it was so hotly anticipated in Vienna that tickets for the 1802 premiere cost three times the venue’s usual price.

Shostakovich assembled music from his scores for stage and screen to create his Suite for Variety Orchestra, better known in the West as Jazz Suite No. 2. Saxophones, guitar and accordion, and a delightful succession of hummable tunes, give the orchestra a distinctive dance-hall flavour.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£13 – £65

Multi-buy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)

Running time:

1 hrs 45 mins, including a 20 minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the event.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

Before the event

Principal Viola Yukiko Ogura
Small-ensemble performance

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Three Trios

Samuel Coles – flute
Yukiko Ogura – viola
Heidi Krutzen – harp

  • Debussy Sonata for flute, viola and harp
  • Bax Elegiac Trio
  • David Heath Falcon Spirit (world premiere)
Royal Festival Hall

Priority booking is open now. General booking opens at 10am on Monday 11 April. Join the Friends to book your tickets now.


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

You may also like

2022/23 London Season

A world of transformative musical experiences
from our home at the Southbank Centre.


View season

Book tickets
£13 — £65