COVID-19 update: We have made the difficult decision to cancel or postpone all Philharmonia Orchestra concerts and performances up to the end of June 2020.
Read more

All events Small-ensemble performance

Music of Today: Xenakis and Reimann

No ticket required

A percussionist playing the tubular bells


Roland Kluttig – conductor
Nicolas Hodges – piano



Xenakis Evryali (for solo piano)
Aribert Reimann Piano Concerto No.2 (UK premiere)

Hear two influential works from the 1970s in this programme showcasing the formidable skill of pianist Nicolas Hodges.

Opening the concert, Xenakis’s Evryali, a whirlwind piece for solo piano, crosses the entire range of the piano in bursts of frenetic energy, punctuated by moments of silence. Composed using a mathematical technique, Evryali is filled with contrasts as the music moves from violent chords and rumbling bass lines up to the fragile upper end of the piano’s register.

Written a year earlier, Aribert Reimann’s Second Piano Concerto places the piano at the centre of a constantly shifting ensemble. Intense moments from the entire group give way to subdued duets in which the piano partners up with a solo instrument, the restless music constantly changing in a kaleidoscope of colour.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts


No ticket required – just walk in

Running time

40 minutes, there is no interval

Recommended age



You can take drinks from the bar into this evening’s performance

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

After the concert

No ticket required