All events Concert

American Romantics


Joana Carneiro


Joana Carneiro – conductor
Esther Yoo – violin


Anna Clyne Rewind

Barber Violin Concerto Listen

— Interval —

Copland Appalachian Spring Suite Listen

Bernstein Symphonic Dances from West Side Story Listen

Enjoy an evening of emotion-packed music by three great American composers of the 20th century.

Experience the passionate music of one of the most iconic musicals ever written – from ‘Mambo’ to ‘Maria’, Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances throw you headfirst into the feverish dances and heart-breaking love story of West Side Story.

Before, Barber’s popular Violin Concerto builds from a serene opening into music of fire and intensity – a perfect showpiece for violinist Esther Yoo’s “scrupulous technique and sweeping passion” (Bachtrack).

Copland’s Appalachian Spring paints a musical picture of rural America, travelling through playful melodies, solemn hymns and deep peace – little wonder why to many it is one of the most beautiful pieces ever written for orchestra; a perfect pairing to Anna Clyne’s brief but atmospheric musical poem, Rewind.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £49

Subscription discounts available; £10 ‘Discovery’ tickets available for ages 16-26; concession discounts available

Running time

1 hour 55 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Box office

The Marlowe box office: 01227 787787

Programme change

Steven Stucky’s Radical Light, which was originally listed as the opener to this concert, has had to be removed from the programme due to previously unknown staging requirements. The concert opener has been replaced by Anna Clyne’s Rewind.


The Marlowe, Canterbury

The Marlowe

The Friars

View on Google Maps