All events Small-ensemble performance

Cromwell Place: Art in Conflict

Sold out

Violinist Benjamin Marquise Gilmore performing


Benjamin Marquise Gilmore – violin
Julian Milone – violin
Gijs Kramers – viola
Yaroslava Trofymchuk – cello
Simon Callaghan – piano


Lyatoshynsky String Quartet No. 4

Shostakovich Piano Quintet

Enjoy an afternoon performance by members of the Philharmonia Orchestra at Cromwell Place. Your ticket includes a glass of prosecco or non-alcoholic equivalent, and entry to all the exhibition spaces. The galleries are open from 10am to 6pm.

Music by Ukrainian Borys Lyatoshynsky and Russian Dmitri Shostakovich, composed during the Second World War, accompanies Cromwell Place’s Art in Conflict. Both composers trod the tightrope of working under the Soviet authorities while expressing their own truth. Both won the Stalin Prize (Shostakovich for the work in today’s programme), but also had their music denounced by the regime, risking arrest or worse.

Lyatoshynsky’s beguiling quartet incorporates Ukrainian and Polish folksongs and dances, reflecting his family’s heritage. Shostakovich’s quintet, composed so that he could perform as pianist with Moscow’s leading string quartets, features a hauntingly beautiful Fugue and a poetic Intermezzo among its five movements.


Need to know



Performance, incl. drink

Running time

1 hour


Cromwell Place

Booking information:

Cromwell Place

Sold out