All events Concert

Beijing: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet plays Beethoven

Find out more

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet resting against a sofa behind a grand piano


Lan Shui – conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet – piano


Elgar Serenade for Strings

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5, ‘Emperor’

— Interval —

Dvořák Symphony No. 9, ‘From the New World’

The Philharmonia complete their tour in Beijing, with a concerto fit for nobility and Dvořák’s ‘New World’ Symphony.

Beethoven didn’t think up the ‘Emperor’ nickname for his concerto himself, but it’s easy to understand when you hear its majestic opening. The “magnificent” (The Telegraph) Jean-Efflam Bavouzet joins as soloist in this enduringly popular concerto.

In Dvořák’s best-loved masterpiece, his trademark Czech style is tinged with the spirit of the Native American and African-American music he came to love and admire during his time in the United States. The symphony packs drama, excitement and hope into one unforgettable work.

Opening the concert is Elgar’s Serenade for Strings, giving the audience a chance to indulge in the luscious sounds of the Philharmonia string section.

Need to know



Running time

2 hours, including an interval

Find out more