Philippe Herreweghe – conductor
Isabelle Faust – violin


Beethoven Violin Concerto Listen

— Interval —

Brahms Symphony No. 4 Listen

In the words of this evening’s soloist Isabelle Faust, Beethoven’s Violin Concerto is ‘one of the most beautiful and most important works of the violin repertoire.’

Faust and conductor Philippe Herreweghe are frequent collaborators, both known for diving deep into the historical context and authentic interpretation of every piece they perform. From its intriguing opening timpani strokes to its exuberant dancing finale, via a breathtakingly beautiful slow movement, their committed and unshowy approach allows Beethoven’s mastery of his art to shine through.

Brahms’s Fourth Symphony is the work of a composer at the top of his game. Brahms called it “my sad symphony”, but this modest adjective belies the composer’s emotional range and consummate structural skill. His friend, the critic Eduard Hanslick, put it better: “It is like a dark well; the longer we look into it, the more brightly the stars shine back.”

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – 70

Multibuy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available

Running time

2 hrs, including an interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available here.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

Before the event


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

You may also like

2023/24 London Season

Explore our 2023/24 season at the Royal Festival Hall.

Browse concerts

Sold out