All events Concert

Brighton Festival: A Sea Symphony

Brighton Dome
Book tickets

Soprano Gweneth Ann Rand


Ilan Volkov – conductor
Gweneth-Ann Rand – soprano
Duncan Rock – baritone
Brighton Festival Chorus


Kaija Saariaho Oltra Mar

— Interval —

Vaughan Williams A Sea Symphony

Using texts from poet Abou Saîd and author Amin Maalouf, leading Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho conjures voyages and marine moods in music of profound power and beauty. The piece draws on chorus and orchestra for its elemental depiction of humankind’s place in the order of Nature. Saariaho describes Oltra Mar ‘Across the sea, the origin of life, humanity travels from one continent to another throughout time, founding and burying cultures and languages, always carrying the two central mysteries of human life: love and death’.

Vaughan Williams’ Sea Symphony, setting words by poet Walt Whitman, is an epic companion piece. 2022 marks Vaughan Williams 150th anniversary and his vast evocation of the ocean and the unfathomable depths of the human condition is an exhilarating showcase.

Acclaimed soloists Gweneth-Ann Rand and Duncan Rock, alongside the massed ranks of the Philharmonia Orchestra and Brighton Festival Chorus, bring Brighton Festival to a close on a suitably mammoth scale.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£10 – £32.50

£25 tickets available for U26s; Festival Standby tickets available for £10

Running time

1 hr 50 mins

Recommended age

From 7+

Box office

Brighton Dome:

Book tickets