Keep the Philharmonia Playing: many live concerts up to March 2021 are sadly cancelled. If you can, give what you can to keep the Philharmonia playing for you.

Donate now

All events Concert

Cardiff: Liszt & Stravinsky


Conductor Pablo Heras-Casado wearing a black velvet blazer, holding his hand to his face, looking off camera


Pablo Heras-Casado – conductor
Daniel Kharitonov – piano


Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio espagnol Listen

Liszt Piano Concerto No. 1 Listen

— Interval —

Prokofiev Symphony No. 1, Classical Listen

Stravinsky The Firebird Suite Listen

Concert openers don’t get much better than Rimsky-Korsakov’s vibrant portrait of Spain, a barnstorming score closing with a sizzling fandango. Flamboyance and grandeur continue in Liszt’s First Piano Concerto, launched by one of the most dramatic openings of any Romantic concerto.

Its soloist will be the young Russian Daniel Kharitonov, whose 2017 Royal Festival Hall debut prompted Classical Source to declare ‘his potential is tremendous’.

There follows Prokofiev’s Haydn-inspired and wonderfully tuneful ‘Classical’ Symphony and Stravinsky’s ravishing orchestral showpiece.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£10 – £43

Subscription discounts available; £5 tickets available for those aged 26 or under; concession discounts available

Running time

1 hour 40 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Box office

St David’s Hall box office: 029 2087 8444


St David's Hall

St David’s Hall

The Hayes
CF10 1AH

View on Google Maps

Watch interview


Conductor Pablo Heras-Casado on Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition