All events Online concert

Live stream: Stephen Hough plays Mendelssohn

Sold out

Early bird booking is now open for Friends (become a Friend).
Tickets go on general sale on Friday 2 October at 9.30am.

Pianist Stephen Hough, sitting at the piano, smiling at camera


Anna-Maria Helsing – conductor
Stephen Hough – piano


Montgomery Strum

Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 1

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, Italian

Mendelssohn spent ten months travelling through Italy in his early twenties. The sunshine, the landscape, the cities and the people delighted him, and luckily for us he distilled all that youthful delight into his Italian Symphony. The music he once described as “blue sky in A major” evokes some of the scenes that made such an impression on him – bright expanses of countryside, dignified religious processions, and hurtling peasant dances.

Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto was also written after his Italian trip, and he gave the first performance himself. In music full of fiery virtuosity, Mendelssohn makes the most of the latest developments in piano-building, showing off the increased volume and range of his instrument. Soloist Stephen Hough is a musician at the very summit of his profession, ‘a physical and intellectual pianistic powerhouse.’ (Glasgow Herald)

To open, Anna-Maria Helsing conducts an exuberant work for strings by New York composer Jessie Montgomery – “a handful of American folk melodies tossed into a strong wind, cascading and tumbling joyfully around one another” (Washington Post).

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£9 – £20

depending where in the world you are watching, whether you are a Friend of the Philharmonia (click here to join), and whether you would like to opt to pay a bit more than the standard price, to support the orchestra as we recover from the COVID shutdown. Full details on the Book Tickets link above

Running time

70-80 minutes

Programme notes

Read the full programme notes here

Where to watch

For audiences in the UK, tickets are available via TicketCo. Your confirmation email will provide you a unique link to watch the stream. Please note that you can only watch this stream in the UK

For audiences outside the UK, the concert will be streamed live on IDAGIO’s Global Concert Hall platform

Is this a live performance?

Yes. The stream is completely live

Will it be available after broadcast?

Yes. The performance will be available for video on demand after broadcast. Look out for ‘Video on demand’ listings on the Philharmonia ‘What’s On’ page

Was it produced safely?

Yes. We are working with independent health and safety experts and have robust risk assessment procedures in place drawing from Public Health England advice

Change of artist

This concert was originally advertised with conductor Elim Chan and violinist Sergey Khachatryan


Dig deeper


Stephen Hough on Mendelssohn's Piano Concerto No. 1


Stephen Hough on the young Mendelssohn

Live from Royal Festival Hall

Streamed concerts from our London home

View events

Support the Philharmonia

Donate today to Keep the Philharmonia Playing for our audiences around the world

Donate now

Sold out