All events Concert

Joshua Bell plays Dvořák

Royal Festival Hall
£13 — £65
Book tickets

Booking for Friends of the Philharmonia opens at 10am on Thursday, 4 November. General booking opens Thursday, 11 November.

Violinist Joshua Bell in blue shirt smiling.


Paavo Järvi – conductor
Joshua Bell – violin


Sibelius Symphony No. 7 Listen

Dvořák Violin Concerto Listen

— Interval —

Beethoven Symphony No. 8 Listen

With a career spanning almost four decades, GRAMMY® Award-winning violinist Joshua Bell is one of the most celebrated artists of his era.

He returns to the Philharmonia for the first time since 2010 to play Dvořák’s Violin Concerto. A violinist himself, Dvořák poured all his skill and a characteristic dash of Czech soul into this concerto. A rich and colourful first movement leads to a gloriously lyrical Adagio, and an exuberant finale full of dancing, syncopated melodies.

To frame the concerto, conductor Paavo Järvi has chosen two very different symphonies. In his Seventh, the last symphony he completed, Sibelius throws out the rule-book on symphonic form. He envelops his listeners in a seamless single movement, a winding journey through different themes, tempos and emotions.

Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony, on the other hand, shows what can happen when the rule-book is in the hands of a master. Full of good humour and dramatic contrasts, this was one of Beethoven’s own favourite works.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£13 – £65

Multi-buy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)

Running time:

1h 50 minutes, including a 20 minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the event.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

Before the concert

Philharmonia musicians Robin O'Neill and Mark van de Wiel.
Small-ensemble performance

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Flamenco to Foxtrot

  • Albéniz Asturias (Leyenda)
  • Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte
  • Gershwin Three Preludes
  • Ravel Five O'Clock Fox-Trot
  • Gershwin Walking the Dog
  • Chabrier España
Royal Festival Hall

More info No ticket required


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

Book tickets
£13 — £65