All events Concert

Leicester: Gershwin and Marsalis with Nicola Benedetti

Sold out

Nicola Benedetti playing solo violin with the Philharmonia conducted by Santtu-Matias Rouvali


Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Nicola Benedetti – violin


Marsalis Violin Concerto

— Interval —

Ellington Three Black Kings

Gershwin arr. Bennett Porgy and Bess: a Symphonic Picture

We bring our series Let Freedom Ring: Celebrating the Sounds of America to Leicester with music by three American composers bridging the worlds of classical music and jazz.

Outstanding violinist Nicola Benedetti joins us for a concert bridging the worlds of classical music and jazz.

Wynton Marsalis’s concerto, composed for her, embraces Celtic fiddle melodies and African-American spirituals, and ends with a foot-stomping hootenanny.

Duke Ellington’s Three Black Kings, for jazz band and orchestra, is a tribute to Martin Luther King.

Part of Let Freedom Ring

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£20 – £45

Subscription discounts available over the phone at 0116 233 3111; £10 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (£25 for top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal Credit

Running time

2 hrs, including 20-minute interval

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available here.

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111

Before the event

Three people talking as part of a panel
6pm, De Montfort Hall

Insights Talk: what makes music sound distinctively 'American'?

Free, no ticket required


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Sold out