All events Concert

Leicester: Sheku Kanneh-Mason plays Haydn

De Montfort Hall, Leicester
Book Now

Booking opens at 10am on Friday 10 June.

Sheku Kanneh-Mason


Elena Schwarz – conductor
Sheku Kanneh-Mason – cello


Grażyna Bacewicz Overture for Symphony Orchestra Listen

Haydn Cello Concerto No. 2 Listen

— Interval —

Beethoven Symphony No. 7 Listen

The Philharmonia returns to Leicester with superstar cellist Sheku Kanneh-Mason, who performs in De Montfort Hall for the first time. From winning BBC Young Musician of the Year in 2016 to performing at the wedding of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle, his career has gone from strength to strength. Kanneh-Mason is the soloist in Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 2, an effervescent piece full of sparkling passages across the instrument’s registers.

Conductor Elena Schwarz takes to the podium for Grażyna Bacewicz’s Overture for Symphony Orchestra – a charming whistlestop tour of a symphony orchestra that’s just a few minutes long – and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7. Despite his oncoming deafness, Beethoven was still able to channel positivity and optimism into this ebullient symphony.

The performance of Grażyna Bacewicz’s Overture for Symphony Orchestra is made possible with funding from the ABO Trust’s Sirens programme, a 10-year initiative to support the performance and promotion of music by historical women composers.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £39.50

Subscription discounts available over the phone at 0116 233 3111; £6 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (excludes top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal Credit

Running time

1 hour 35 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

Book Now