All events Small-ensemble performance

Music of Today: Anna Clyne Curates

Free, ticket required
Book free tickets

Priority booking is open now. General booking opens at 10am on Monday 11 April. Join the Friends to book your tickets now.

Composer Anna Clyne in beige jacket and black hat at a crossing.


Members of the Philharmonia Orchestra


Montgomery Strum (original version for string quartet) Listen

Caroline Shaw Punctum Listen

Paola Prestini G-Force

Anna Clyne Strange Loops (UK premiere, Philharmonia co-commission)

Anna Clyne, the Philharmonia’s Featured Composer, curates a free evening of chamber music by some of the most engaging composers working today.

Snatches of folk-inflected melody swirl and dance through Strum by New York composer Jessie Montgomery. Caroline Shaw, eclectic musician and youngest ever recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Music, describes her Punctum as “an exercise in nostalgia”. Paula Prestini’s G-force, dedicated to the memory of a friend and “a life fully lived”, combines the traditional textures of a string quartet with the otherworldly sound of the vibraphone. And a clarinet joins the string quartet in the first UK performance of Clyne’s own Strange Loops, co-commissioned by the Philharmonia.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts


Ticket required

Running time

50 mins, no interval

Recommended age



You can take drinks from the bar into this performance.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

After the event


The lobby of the Purcell Room at Southbank Centre, audience queuing at hall entrance

Purcell Room

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

You may also like

2022/23 London Season

A world of transformative musical experiences
from our home at the Southbank Centre.


View season

Book free tickets
Free, ticket required