All events Concert

Nicola Benedetti plays Brahms

Royal Festival Hall
£13 — £65
Book tickets

Booking for Friends of the Philharmonia opens at 10am on Thursday, 4 November. General booking opens Thursday, 11 November.

Violinist Nicola Benedetti in focused performance.


Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Nicola Benedetti – violin


Brahms Violin Concerto

— Interval —

Shostakovich Symphony No. 7, 'Leningrad'

Captivating violinist Nicola Benedetti joins the Philharmonia and Santtu, our new Principal Conductor, to perform a pinnacle of the violin repertoire.

The first movement of Brahms’s Violin Concerto brims with melodies of such spontaneity and freshness that they almost feel improvised. The second opens with a gorgeously serene theme, played by the oboe and then taken up by the violin. And the third has a fiery Hungarian flavour, demanding the perfect balance of precision and freedom, energy and expressiveness from the soloist.

The story of Shostakovich’s Seventh Symphony is entwined with the 900-day siege of Leningrad (now St Petersburg) by Nazi forces. Half a million people died in the siege, and this powerful piece became a testament to them and a symbol of resistance to fascism and tyranny. At the heart of the first movement is a repeated snare-drum motif that grows ever louder and more oppressive. But Shostakovich never intended his music to be a literal representation of war – there’s beauty as well as suffering, light as well as terrible darkness, in this musical monument to the human spirit.

This concert is supported by Sir Sydney Lipworth QC and Lady Lipworth CBE

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£13 – £65

Multi-buy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)

Running time:

2h 15 minutes, including a 20 minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the event.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

Before the concert

Principal violist Yukiko Ogura in performance.
Small-ensemble performance

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Prodigy and Fantasy

Benjamin Marquise Gilmore – violin
Rebecca Chan – violin
William Bender – viola
Yukiko Ogura – viola
Alexander Rolton – cello
Tom Blomfield – oboe

  • Mendelssohn String Quintet No. 1
  • Britten Phantasy Quartet Op. 2
Royal Festival Hall

More info No ticket required


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

Book tickets
£13 — £65