Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Seong-Jin Cho – piano
Jason Evans – trumpet


Sibelius Symphony No. 6

Shostakovich Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Strings

— Interval —

Shostakovich Symphony No. 6

Award-winning pianist Seong-Jin Cho joins us in Shostakovich’s most playful concerto.

Cho has gone from strength to strength since winning the International Chopin Competition in 2015. Performing with the Philharmonia at last year’s Edinburgh International Festival, he won praise for his ‘breathtaking nimbleness’ (The Scotsman). And nimbleness is exactly what’s needed for Shostakovich’s Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Strings, which fizzes with energy and humour.

Our Finnish Principal Conductor Santtu opens with Sibelius’s Sixth Symphony. Sibelius himself described it as ‘pure cold water’, in contrast to the ‘cocktails of every hue’ served up by more avant garde composers in the 1920s. But there’s plenty of warmth and cheerfulness in this symphony too.

Shostakovich said he wanted his Sixth Symphony to convey ‘the moods of spring, joy, youth’. Perhaps he was thinking of the mood swings of adolescence – an introspective first movement gives way to a colourful and carefree Scherzo, then a frenzied finale.

Supported by the Korean Cultural Centre UK. Celebrating 140 years of friendship between the UK and the Republic of Korea.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£20 – £75

Multi-buy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse (limited availability)

Running time

1 hr 45 mins, including a 20 minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available here.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Sold out