All events Concert

Santtu conducts Tchaikovsky

Royal Festival Hall
£13 — £65
Book tickets

Booking for Friends of the Philharmonia opens at 10am on Thursday, 4 November. General booking opens Thursday, 11 November.

Pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii at the piano


Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Nobuyuki Tsujii – piano


Tchaikovsky Francesca da Rimini Listen

Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 Listen

— Interval —

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, Pathétique Listen

Extraordinary pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii, known to his many fans as Nobu, joins the orchestra for an evening of Tchaikovsky masterworks.

From its unmistakable opening chords to the fireworks of its finale, Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto demands not just outstanding technique but also a huge emotional range from its soloist. Nobu, who is blind and relies on intense, incredibly detailed listening to learn and perform, has both in spades.

Emotions run high, too, in Francesca da Rimini, inspired by a scene from Dante’s Inferno. Tchaikovsky throws everything the orchestra has got at this terrifying tale of adultery, murder and damnation – his fellow-composer Saint-Saëns said “in it, the gentlest and most kindly of men has unleashed a fearful tempest.”

Tchaikovsky described his final symphony as “the best thing I have composed or will ever compose”. To many listeners it encompasses hope and despair, joy and heartbreak, life and death. At the height of his powers, Tchaikovsky overturned many of the conventions of the symphony. The second movement, which at first sounds like a graceful waltz, in fact has an unsettling five beats in a bar; the third ends with a blaze of brass and percussion which would have made the perfect triumphant finale; and the actual finale ends with a devastating descent into silence.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£13 – £65

Multi-buy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)

Running time:

2h 10 minutes, including a 20 minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the event.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

Before the concert

Horn player Kira Doherty
Small-ensemble performance

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Mozart & Poulenc

Timothy Rundle – oboe
Laurent Ben Slimane – clarinet
Luke Whitehead – bassoon
Kira Doherty – horn
Elizabeth Burley – piano

  • Poulenc Trio for Oboe, Bassoon and Piano
  • Mozart Quintet for Piano and Winds
Royal Festival Hall

More info No ticket required


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

Book tickets
£13 — £65