Saturday 1 Jun 2019, 7.30pmDe Montfort Hall, Leicester

Venue Box Office: 0116 233 3111

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor

Nicola Benedetti violin

Mendelssohn Overture, The Hebrides

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1


Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

A chance to hear Bruch’s impassioned First Violin Concerto performed by superstar violinist Nicola Benedetti, recently described as “a woman luminous with purpose, whose unfolding musical intelligence and technical artistry surge from every note” (The Economist). Then experience Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony, which emerged from a particularly troubled period in the composer’s life: between the strident ‘fate’ fanfare of the opening bars and the fiery energy of the finale come a profusion of emotions expressed in memorable melodies and vivid orchestral textures.