Thursday 1 Aug 2019, 7.45pmGloucester Cathedral, Gloucester

Venue Box Office: 01242 691 190

Martyn Brabbins conductor

Kathryn Rudge mezzo soprano

Stravinsky The Firebird: Suite (1919)

Berlioz Les nuits d'été


Walton Symphony No. 1

We present three visionary orchestral pieces under the assured baton of Martyn Brabbins, beginning with Stravinsky’s sparkling Firebird Suite, as fresh and invigorating today as it was a century ago. Brimming over with savage emotional intensity, Walton’s ferociously compelling First Symphony concludes the concert, while Berlioz’s Les nuits d’été – despite its innocuous title – explores a life cycle of love and loss.

This concert is part of the Three Choirs Festival series