COVID-19 update: We have made the difficult decision to cancel or postpone all Philharmonia Orchestra concerts and performances up to the end of June 2020.
Read more

All events Small-ensemble performance

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Debussy and Webern

Royal Festival Hall

Philharmonia chamber players


Eunsley Park – violin
Emma Oldfield – violin
William Bender – viola
Yaroslava Trofymchuk – cello


Debussy String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10

Webern Langsamer Satz

Enjoy our final Philharmonia Chamber Players concert of the season, programmed by cellist, Yaroslava Trofymchuk.

Debussy’s String Quartet, the only one he ever composed, is a perfect example of the evolution of his writing style during the late nineteenth century towards what became known as the Impressionist style. He stretches the rules of classical structure harmony and points the way ahead.

Webern, on the other hand, intended to write an entire quartet but put it aside after completing this one movement. Langsamer Satz is said to be inspired by a hiking holiday in the mountains outside of Vienna and is firmly rooted in post-Brahmsian Romanticism and tonality.

After the concert

Alexander Gavrylyuk

Tchaikovsky's Pathétique Symphony

Juraj Valčuha – conductor
Alexander Gavrylyuk – piano

  • Glazunov Concert Waltz No. 1
  • Grieg Piano Concerto
  • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, Pathétique
Royal Festival Hall