Keep the Philharmonia Playing: all live concerts up to December 2020 are sadly cancelled. If you can, give what you can to keep the Philharmonia playing for you, wherever you are in the world.

Donate now

All events Online concert

Philharmonia Sessions: Beethoven and Vaughan Williams

Visit our YouTube channel

Nicola Benedetti, credit Andy Gotts


Paavo Järvi – conductor
Nicola Benedetti – violin


Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending

Beethoven Symphony No. 1

The two pieces in our third Philharmonia Session are the perfect way to leave your memories of lockdown worry and confinement behind.

Close your eyes and soar with Vaughan Williams’s jubilant lark over his beloved English countryside. The violin solo, bubbling with joy and freedom, is in the hands of Nicola Benedetti – not just an outstanding performer, but a wonderful advocate for the power of music to enrich our lives.

Conductor Paavo Järvi, a favourite with Philharmonia musicians and audiences alike, continues with Beethoven’s First Symphony. Combining fleet-footed melodies with the first glimpses of Beethoven’s eventual dramatic flair, this music brims with youthful confidence, energy and charm.

Supported by:
Goldman Sachs Gives
John and Carol Wates
The Wates Foundation
Lark Music

Promoted in partnership with Classic FM.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

Free to watch

The Philharmonia Sessions are free to watch. Make a donation today to support the Philharmonia Sessions, keep our musicians playing and secure the future of the Orchestra.

Running time

50 minutes

Is this a live performance?

No, this is a deferred broadcasts/stream. It is performed and filmed shortly ahead of the broadcast date and time.

Where to watch

The performance will be streamed on the Philharmonia’s YouTube channel and on Classic FM’s Facebook Live.

Was it produced safely?

Yes. We are working with independent health and safety experts and have robust risk assessment procedures in place drawing from Public Health England advice.

Will it be available after broadcast?

Yes. It will be available on the Philharmonia’s YouTube channel for 30 days after broadcast.

Programme change

This performance was originally listed as including Schubert’s Symphony No. 5. The Orchestra will be performing Beethoven’s First Symphony in its place.

Watch previous Sessions


Session 1: Sheku performs Saint-Saëns

Available to watch until 16 August

Philharmonia Sessions

Enjoy specially created online performances of some of the most uplifting classical music

Read more

Donate to support

We’re in this together. In times like these, we need your help more than ever to continue the work we do, both on and off stage.

Donate now

Visit our YouTube channel