All events Concert

Hilary Hahn: The Lark Ascending

Royal Festival Hall
£13 — £65
Book tickets

Booking for Friends of the Philharmonia opens at 10am on Thursday, 1 July. General booking opens Thursday, 8 July.

Hilary Hahn


Elim Chan – conductor
Hilary Hahn – violin


Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending

Gabriella Smith Tumblebird Contrails

Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1

— Interval —

Brahms Symphony No. 2

Hilary Hahn’s fantastic playing, and her barrier-busting approach to classical music, have won her a global community of fans.

Tonight she joins forces with captivating conductor Elim Chan in two contrasting pieces written at the time of the First World War. In Vaughan Williams’s beloved The Lark Ascending the violin soars joyfully above a lush orchestral evocation of the English countryside. Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto too is full of lyricism, and virtuosity too, but with a darker edge.

Different birds, in a very different landscape, feature in Gabriella Smith’s depiction of a moment on the Pacific coast of the US, ‘watching a pair of ravens playing in the wind, rolling, swooping, diving, soaring.’ And the pastoral mood of the first half of the concert returns in Brahms’s rich and radiant Symphony No. 2. 

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£13 – £65

Subscription discounts available; under-18s and concessions discounts available; discounted tickets for students via Student Pulse one month before the concert (limited availability)

Running time:

1h 50 minutes, including a 20 minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the event

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

Vote for us:
Gramophone Orchestra of the Year

Trailblazing virtual reality, vital outreach work during the pandemic – and transformative performances for audiences across the world.

Inspired by what we do? Then help us become Gramophone’s Orchestra of the Year 2021. Voting takes less than a minute.

Vote now

Book tickets
£13 — £65