All events Concert

Leicester: Jeneba Kanneh-Mason plays Rachmaninov

De Montfort Hall
£21 – £46
Book tickets

Jeneba Kanneh-Mason performing with the Philharmonia Orchestra


Tess Jackson – conductor
Jeneba Kanneh-Mason – piano


Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2

— Interval —

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Romantic grandeur and dramatic flair close our 2024/25 season in Leicester.

Bursting with more memorable melodies than many composers write in a lifetime, Rachmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto is arguably the most popular in classical music history. Jeneba Kanneh-Mason made her Philharmonia debut with the piece in 2022, a performance in which she was praised for her ‘poetry and confidence’ (The Guardian). She returns tonight to win the hearts of our audience in Leicester.

Young British conductor – and Classic FM Rising Star – Tess Jackson makes her Philharmonia debut, completing the programme with Tchaikovsky’s explosive Symphony No. 4. A musical depiction of Fate, written after a period of personal turmoil, it’s a powerful exploration of the meaning of life. From deceptively simple melodies, Tchaikovsky builds a spellbinding forty minutes of high emotional drama.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£21 – £46

Multi-buy discounts available; £11 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (£28.50 for top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal or Pension Credit; group booking discount available

Running time

1 hr 50 mins, including 20-minute interval

Programme notes 

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the concert.

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111

Before the event

Three people on stage speaking as part of a panel
6pm, Garden Suite

Insights Talk

Free, no ticket required


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Michelle Cann performing at the piano
Wednesday 5 March 2025, 7pm, De Montfort Hall

Ryan Bancroft conducts Beethoven & Strauss

Book tickets
£21 – £46