All events Concert

Leicester: Santtu conducts Shostakovich & Prokofiev

De Montfort Hall
£21 – £46
Book tickets

Outdoor shot of Nemanja Radulovic holding violin up and smiling


Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Nemanja Radulović – violin


Prokofiev Symphony No. 1, 'Classical'

Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1

— Interval —

Shostakovich Symphony No. 1

Our Principal Conductor and Featured Artist join forces for an evening of 20th century classics.

Charismatic violinist Nemanja Radulović brings his ‘energy and firepower’ (Gramophone) to the De Montfort Hall stage in Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto. Met with disapproval by the Soviet authorities, the piece did not receive its premiere until after Stalin’s death. The anguish Shostakovich must have felt at being repressed is felt in the painfully beautiful, yearning third movement, which leads straight into the wild finale.

Music from a student Shostakovich completes this evening’s programme. Shostakovich was just 19 years old when we wrote his graduation piece at the Petrograd Conservatory. But don’t be fooled by his young age: already, we hear the composer’s distinctive voice and style in one of his finest works.

First, we hear Prokofiev’s “happy and uncomplicated”, Mozart-inspired Symphony No. 1. Light-hearted and filled with dances, it’s the perfect way to open the programme.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£21 – £46

Multi-buy discounts available; £11 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (£28.50 for top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal or Pension Credit; group booking discount available

Running time

2 hrs, including 20-minute interval

Programme notes 

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the concert.

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Book tickets
£21 – £46