All events Concert

Leicester: Ryan Bancroft conducts Beethoven & Strauss

De Montfort Hall
£21 – £46
Book tickets

Michelle Cann performing at the piano


Ryan Bancroft – conductor
Michelle Cann – piano


Ives The Unanswered Question

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4

— Interval —

Strauss Also sprach Zarathustra

Ryan Bancroft is a favourite among Philharmonia fans. Tonight, he conducts the Orchestra in Leicester for the first time in music by Beethoven and Strauss.

The opening of Also sprach Zarathustra might be one of the most recognisable in classical music. But there’s much more to the work than its 2001: A Space Odyssey fame. In its half-hour span, Strauss takes us on a philosophical journey exploring the meaning of life. With blazing brass and sumptuous strings, he creates a listening experience full of intense feeling. It’s a real highlight of the orchestral repertoire and gives our players a chance to show off the renowned Philharmonia sound.

First, Grammy Award-winning Michelle Cann makes her Philharmonia debut in Beethoven’s playful Fourth Piano Concerto. Opening with the solo piano with no orchestral introduction, it’s a deeply intimate work that remains one of Beethoven’s best loved.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£21 – £46

Multi-buy discounts available; £11 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (£28.50 for top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal or Pension Credit; group booking discount available

Running time

1 hr 40 mins, including 20-minute interval

Programme notes 

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the concert.

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111

Before the event

Three people on stage speaking as part of a panel
6pm, De Montfort Hall

Insights Talk

Free, no ticket required


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Book tickets
£21 – £46