All events Concert

Leicester: The Lark Ascending

Sold out

Leia Zhu playing violin


Chloé van Soeterstède – conductor
Leia Zhu – violin


Schubert Symphony No. 5

Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending

— Interval —

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, 'Italian'

Rising star Leia Zhu plays The Lark Ascending by Ralph Vaughan Williams in a programme that takes us from England to Italy.

Already captivating audiences with her musical maturity, 16-year-old violinist Leia Zhu is a star in the making. With “a poise and musical intelligence beyond her years” (The Guardian), Leia Zhu takes on one of the best-loved works in the repertoire: Vaughan Williams’s The Lark Ascending. This sublime piece poignantly conjures up a bygone English idyll, the violin’s subtle contours tracing the songbird’s ascent into the ether.

Praised for her “gifts of balance, attention, and acute musical sensibility” (Bachtrack), Chloé van Soeterstède opens the concert with fresh and exuberant music from a 19-year-old Schubert, before whisking us off to Italy in Mendelssohn’s sunny symphony – a work once described by the composer as “the jolliest piece I have ever done”.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£20 – £45

Subscription discounts available over the phone at 0116 233 3111; £10 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (£25 for top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal Credit

Running time

1 hour 45 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the concert.

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Sold out